Philanthropy New Zealand Emerging Individual of the Year Award

Nominations have now closed.

The Philanthropy New Zealand Emerging Individual of the Year Award recognises those who are in the early stages of their role within the philanthropic sector. This award aims to recognise up-and-coming leaders and contributors within the sector and celebrates their achievements to date.


  • Nominations are welcomed from Philanthropy New Zealand members only.
  • Nominees do not have to be members of Philanthropy New Zealand.
  • You are unable to nominate yourself as an individual but you are welcome to nominate an individual you have supported.
  • Current staff, board members and the Awards Committee of Philanthropy New Zealand are not eligible for nomination.
  • All nominations will remain confidential and only successful finalists will be announced.

Selection criteria.  This award

  • Is open to individuals under the age of 40.
  • Recognises philanthropic achievements during the last 5 years.
  • For a New Zealand-based individual who works (either paid or voluntarily) in the field of philanthropy.
  • Recognises someone who demonstrates leadership, impact, advocacy, example, strategic giving and/or best practice grantmaking or donating.

Support materials
All nominations for the Philanthropy New Zealand Emerging Individual of the Year Award are asked to submit the following supporting documentation:


  • Photo of nominee (300dpi)
  • Short biography (200 – 300 words)
  • Reference supporting the reasons for the nomination


  • Short video (3 minutes maximum)
  • Additional references and supporting materials
  • Additional photos of their work

Selection process;

Submissions will be reviewed by the Awards Committee in April 2017.
Finalists will be contacted and announced in April.
Finalists will be asked to attend the AMP Capital Cocktail Party at the Philanthropy Summit 2017 on Thursday 11 May where the winner will be announced. In the instance a finalist is unable to attend the Cocktail Party, they will be asked to nominate a representative to accept the award on their behalf should they be successful.