Philanthropy New Zealand hosts the Philanthropy Awards to celebrate outstanding achievement, innovation and leadership in the philanthropic and grantmaking sector.

The 2019 Awards will be presented at the Philanthropy Summit 15 – 17 May 2019.

Key dates

Nominations open: 
Tuesday, 29 January 2019

Nominations close: Friday, 8 March 2019 at 5.00 pm (NZST)

People’s Choice voting: Thursday, 18 April – Monday, 29 April 2019

Direct Capital Cocktail Party and Awards ceremony: Thursday, 16 May 2019


Award categories

Read more about each award below.



Perpetual Guardian – Lifetime Achievement Award 

Celebrates the enduring contribution and career of two inspirational leaders:

  • An individual philanthropist
  • A leader or staff member with a career in philanthropic and grantmaking organisations.

Read more



AMP Capital – People’s Choice Community Awards

Two Awards determined by public online vote, showcasing:

  • A community organisation creating positive social or environmental change through a project and the funder that has helped make that change possible
  • The outstanding achievement of rōpū Māori. This acknowledges a kaupapa Māori organisation run by, and for, Māori, who are achieving extraordinary positive change in their community.

Read more about the finalists here



Strategic Grants – Te Tiriti o Waitangi & Grantmaking Award

Recognises leadership or initiatives that have led to a philanthropic or grantmaking organisation to improve their relationship with mana whenua / tangata whenua and/or grantmaking to kaupapa Māori organisations.

Read more



Kiwi Invest – Emerging Leader Award

Recognises the contribution of someone new to the sector who is making a significant impact on philanthropy or grantmaking.

Read more about the finalists here.



Vodafone – Innovation in Grantmaking Award

Showcases an organisation that has successfully launched an innovative response to the challenges of being a great grantmaker.

Read more about the finalists here.


Read our FAQs for more information on these awards.

Award & Nomination Criteria

The judges will decide who should be offered the Lifetime Achievement Award. No nominations will be requested for this award.

Nominations will be sought from PNZ members for the remaining Awards, with the two People’s Choice Community Changemakers determined by public online vote, and the finalists and winners of the Emerging Leader, Innovation, and Te Tiriti o Waitangi Awards selected by judges.

  • Nominations can be made by any Philanthropy New Zealand member
  • Nominees and award winners do not have to be Philanthropy New Zealand members
  • Nominations will be by an online form available here from 29 January 2019.

How will the Awards be decided?

Judges will be invited to select finalists and winners. The judging panels will be made up of suitably qualified PNZ members, representatives of the five sponsors who have naming rights to each award, and if required an external judge with special expertise or who can provide a neutral option where other potential judges are likely to be award candidates.

Representatives from PNZ’s Māori Advisory Committee will be judges for the Kaupapa Māori People’s Choice Community Award and Te Tiriti o Waitangi and Grantmaking Award.