Call for Philanthropy New Zealand Board Nominations 2020

October 19, 2020

At the Philanthropy NZ AGM on Thursday 3rd December 2020 one Board Member position will be open for election. Please consider if you, or someone you know, could contribute to the sector as a PNZ Board Member. Nomination is open for PNZ grantmaking, individual and honorary members, including representatives of organisational members. Nomination close Friday 6 November 2020.

PNZ Board Information

The PNZ rules allow for the Board to have up to nine members, some of which may be co-opted. Elected Board Members stand for 3-year terms, with a maximum term of 9 years or 12 years for the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. Co-opted members terms end after the AGM, they can be co-opted again at the next Board meeting.

The Board is responsible for the stewardship of PNZ resources, setting strategy, and monitoring the performance of the organisation and CE. The PNZ Board meets quarterly, usually for one day. Some Board members are also part of the Finance, Audit & Risk Committee (FA&RC), the Māori Advisory Committee (MAC) and the Youth Advisory Group (YAG). Board members are occasionally invited to represent PNZ at events.

PNZ covers the costs of Board member travel and accommodation, although some PNZ organisation members contribute to these costs if the Board member is one of their trustees or staff members.

Commitment to Māori and youth members

The PNZ Board wants to make sure that it reflects the philanthropic sector in Aotearoa New Zealand. The Board Guiding Principles state at least two Board seats will be made available to Māori and at least one to youth. Currently one elected and one co-opted member are Māori and one elected member is 35 or under.

Current Board members

Ken Whitney, individual member (Chairperson)

Terri Eggleton, Bay Trust (Deputy Chairperson and Chair of FA&RC)

Annette Culpan, individual member

Gemma Major, individual member

Seumas Fantham, The Todd Foundation

Jeremy Faumuinā, individual member (co-opted)

Leighton Evans, Rāta Foundation (co-opted)

Whetū Campbell, Wellington Community Trust (co-opted)


Nominations must be received by noon, Friday 6 November 2020 to be included with the notice of the AGM. Please send your completed nomination form and photo by email to Results will be announced at the PNZ AGM Thursday 3rd December in Wellington.

PNZ Board Nomination Form


If you have questions about the Board operations, please feel free to contact the Chief Executive Sue McCabe in confidence on or 021 263 9639.