Finalists: Vodafone – Innovation in Grantmaking Award


This Award showcases an individual or organisation that has successfully launched an innovative response to the challenges of being a great grantmaker.

The winner of this Award will be announced at the Philanthropy New Zealand Awards 2019 at the Direct Capital Cocktail and Award Party on 16 May 2019, to be held at Parliament.


The finalists for 2019 are:

Auckland Foundation – Women’s Fund

The Women’s Fund is a new concept in NZ, placing a gender lens on philanthropy and putting power and outcomes firmly in the hands of women. The Auckland Foundation Women’s Fund has served to fill a niche in NZ grantmaking and paved the way for others to follow. The Women’s Fund is a community of generous women who work together to create opportunities for women and girls.  

Read more

The Arts Foundation – Boosted 

Conceived by Simon Bowden in 2010 during a philanthropic research trip to the United States, Boosted was launched by the Arts Foundation in 2013 and is New Zealand’s only donation-based crowdfunding platform dedicated to arts and creative projects. Unique in New Zealand and rare in the world, donations to projects on Boosted are made to the Arts Foundation, who grants the funds raised to the project when the project reaches its target by the deadline. Donors get a 33% tax credit and projects do not have to offer rewards.

Read more


The Todd Foundation

After 45 years of running open grant application rounds, the Todd Foundation has adopted a completely new funding strategy which focusses on supporting collective and system focussed solutions to create sustainable, long term social change. To promote co-ordination and collaboration, they have done away with competitive application rounds in favour of pro-actively seeking out communities, organisations and collectives to partner with. Todd Foundation’s new strategy follows so many of the good grantmaking philosophies – it is community-led, research-informed, flexible and long term.

Read more


With thanks to our award sponsor: