Philanthropy New Zealand Board Nominations are open

October 19, 2017

The Philanthropy New Zealand (PNZ) Board is pleased to announce that nominations for TWO positions for Board Members have opened.

PNZ grantmaker members are warmly invited to consider whether they wish to contribute to our sector as a Board member.

PNZ Board Information
The Board wants to make sure that it reflects the philanthropic sector in Aotearoa New Zealand. An identified gap is young people directly involved in their own philanthropic activity or working in the sector.

Members are elected for 3-year terms, with re-election available up to a total of 9 years, unless they hold office, in which case they are eligible to serve for up to 12 years.

Current Board members are:
Sandra Kai Fong (Chair) – Trustee, Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust
Terri Eggleton (Dep. Chair, Chair Finance) – Senior Policy & Community Investment Advisor, BayTrust
Rongo Kirkwood (Chair Maori Advisory) – Donations Advisor, Trust Waikato
Barry Baker – Partner, Grant Thornton
Annette Culpan – Founder, Torokaha
Murray Jones – Trustee, Dove Charitable Trust
Jennifer Walsh – Funds Manager, Ngāi Tahu Fund
Ken Whitney – Trustee, Chisholm Whitney Trust

Sandra Kai Fong and Murray Jones are at the end of their current 3-year term and have indicated that they will be seeking re-election.

The Board is responsible for the stewardship of PNZ resources, setting strategy, and monitoring the performance of the organisation and CE. The PNZ Board meets quarterly for a day, with an additional strategy day in February each year. Two sub-committees also meet (Finance, Audit & Risk; Maori Advisory). Board members are occasionally invited to represent PNZ at events.

PNZ covers the costs of Board member travel and accommodation, although some PNZ organisation
members contribute to these costs if the Board member is one of their trustees or staff members.

Nominees, proposers, and seconders must be current PNZ grantmaking or honorary members, including trustees/staff of organisational members.

Download Nomination Form here

Completed nomination forms, with a 200-word bio/cv and current picture, must be received by 5pm, Friday 3 November 2017 – email
or post to
Philanthropy New Zealand,
PO Box 1521,
Wellington 6140.

Results will be announced at the Philanthropy New Zealand AGM Tuesday 5 December in Wellington.